Japanese Architect Arata Isozaki receives 2019 Pri...

Japanese Architect Arata Isozaki receives 2019 Pritzker Architecture Prize

Renowned Japanese architect Arata Isozaki received this year’s Pritzker Architecture Prize on Friday at the Palace of Versailles, France. He is the 8th Japanese to receive the prize after Kenzo Tange and Tadao Ando. Also, he is the 46th person to receive the Pritzker Prize.

Arata Isozaki is a distinguished Japanese architect, city planner and theorist. He is credited for fusing East and West, modern and postmodern, and global and local in a visually diverse body of work. He was honoured with a medal at an award ceremony along with the prize last week.

Founded in 1979, the Pritzker Architecture Prize honours a living architect or architects whose work combines talent, vision and commitment and who has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. The award is known internationally as architecture’s highest honor.

Isozaki who is from the city of Oita in southwestern Japan is now 87 old. He is renowned for innovative designs that bring together Eastern and Western culture. In his long 60 years of career time, his designs have shaped cityscapes worldwide and has contributed in designing more than 100 buildings around the globe. His works include the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona, Team Disney Building in Florida, Oita Prefectural Library and the Qatar National Convention Center in Doha.

Palau Sant Jordi, Photo Courtesy – Hisao Suzuki


Palau Sant Jordi, Photo Courtesy – Hisao Suzuki


Qatar National Convention Center; Photo Courtesy – Hisao Suzuki


Domus: La Casa del Hombre; Photo Courtesy – Hisao Suzuki


Isozaki graduated from the Department of Architecture in the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Tokyo in 1954, and began his career with an apprenticeship under the guidance of 1987 Pritzker Prize Laureate Kenzo Tange. He established Arata Isozaki & Associates in 1963, after the Allied occupation when Japan had regained its sovereignty and was seeking physical rebuilding amidst political, economic and cultural uncertainty from the decimation of WWII.

MOMA Gunma; Photo Courtesy – Yasuhiro Ishimoto

He is also the recipient of the Annual Prize, Architectural Institute of Japan, for the Ōita Prefectural Library, 1967 and The Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Gunma, 1975 in Japan. He received RIBA Gold Medal for architecture, 1986 in United Kingdom. He was an honorary member of the Royal Academy of Arts (1994) and the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1998), and a member of the Japan Arts Academy (2017). He was appointed to the first Pritzker Prize Jury in 1979, and continued on as a member for five additional years.